Arbitration

Herbert Kronke, since 2012 Arbitrator at the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal, The Hague (The Netherlands), Emeritus Professor, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg (Germany), and from 1998 to 2008 Secretary-General UNIDROIT, Rome (Italy), acts as Chairman of Arbitral Tribunals, Sole Arbitrator, or Co-Arbitrator in both institutional (ICC, Stockholm, Milan Chamber, AIA, DIS) and ad hoc arbitrations (e.g. under UNCITRAL Rules).

66 arbitrations (63 commercial - frequently involving States or state-owned enterprises and other public entities - and three BIT investment arbitrations under Stockholm and UNCITRAL Rules), with parties from Europe, the Americas, Asia and the Middle East have involved applicable laws of the following jurisdictions: Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Switzerland, Turkey, United States (Delaware, New York). The proceedings were related to sales and distribution contracts, commodities trade and price revision, shareholders‘ agreements, directors’ liability and executive pay, post-M&A disputes, privatisation of state-owned enterprises, bank-payment undertakings and other financial services, secured transactions, competition, construction, energy, telecommunication, operation of satellites and other space activities, toll production, automotive parts supply, product liability.

Herbert Kronke is Chairman of the Board of the German Institution of Arbitration (DIS), Member of the Arbitral Council of the Milan Chamber of National and International  Arbitration, member of the ICC Commission on Arbitration, the London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA) – European User Group -, the Swiss Arbitration Association (ASA) and the Austrian Arbitration Association.  Other institutions he is associated with include the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) and the Cairo Regional Centre for International Commercial Arbitration (CRCICA).

He received his legal education in Germany and the United Kingdom. He took the bar exam in 1980 and holds Dr iur (PhD) and Dr iur habil (post doc) degrees from the Universities of Munich and Trier (Germany) as well as honorary doctorates conferred by Eötvös-Loránd University, Budapest (Hungary) and the International Hellenic University, Thessaloniki (Greece). He has been involved in research and teaching in Brazil, Canada, China, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, the United States and at the Hague Academy of International Law. He is author of more than 150 books and articles on contract law, commercial law, company law, capital market and financial services law, conflict of laws, civil procedure and arbitration. He is a member of the Academie Internationale de Droit Comparé/International Academy of Comparative Law  and other international and national learned societies.

Herbert Kronke conducts arbitrations in English, German and Italian and has good knowledge of French and Dutch as well as reading knowledge of Danish, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish.

Responsible: Prof. Dr. Dres. h.c. Herbert Kronke
Latest Revision: 2016-12-13
zum Seitenanfang/up

Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit

Herbert Kronke, seit 2012 Schiedsrichter am Iran-United States Claims Tribunal in Den Haag (Niederlande), Emeritus der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg und von 1998 bis 2008 Generalsekretär von UNIDROIT, Rom, ist – überwiegend - als Vorsitzender oder Einzelschiedsrichter sowie als parteibenannter Mitschiedsrichter tätig, und zwar sowohl in institutionell administrierten (ICC, Stockholm, Mailänder Kammer, AIA, DIS) als auch in ad hoc Verfahren (z.B. unter der UNCITRAL-Schiedsordnung).

In 66 Schiedsverfahren (63 Handelsschiedsgerichtsverfahren und drei BIT-Investitionsschiedsgerichtsverfahren unter Stockholmer und UNCITRAL-Schiedsordnung) – häufig unter Beteiligung von Staaten, Staatsunternehmen und anderen staatlichen und intergouvernementalen Organisationen und Einrichtungen – mit Parteien aus Europa, Amerika, Asien und dem Mittleren Osten war das Recht folgender Länder anwendbar: Deutschland, England, Frankreich, Griechenland, Italien, Libanon, Luxemburg, Panama, Polen, Portugal, Rumänien, Russische Föderation, Saudi Arabien, Schweiz, Tschechische Republik, Türkei, Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika (Delaware, New York). Die Verfahren betrafen Kauf- und Vertriebsverträge, Rohstofflieferungen und Preisanpassung, Gesellschaftsverträge, Haftung von Mitgliedern von Gesellschaftsorganen und Vergütung von Organmitgliedern, aus Unternehmenskäufen resultierende Streitigkeiten, Privatisierung von Staatsunternehmen, Akkreditive, Bankgarantien und andere Finanzdienstleistungen, Kreditsicherungsrechte, Wettbewerbsrecht, Baurecht, Energie, Telekommunikation, Satellitenbetrieb und andere Raumfahrtaktivitäten, toll production, Automobilteilezulieferung, Produkthaftung. 

Herbert Kronke ist Vorsitzender des Vorstandes der Deutschen Institution für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit e.V. (DIS),  Mitglied des Schiedsrates der Mailänder Kammer für nationale und internationale Schiedsverfahren,  der ICC-Kommission für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit, des London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA), der Schweizerischen Vereinigung für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit (ASA) und der Österreichischen Vereinigung für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit. Er ist zudem folgenden Schiedsgerichtsbarkeitsinstitutionen verbunden: Chinese International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) und Cairo Regional Centre for International Arbitration (CRCICA).  

Nach dem Jurastudium in Mainz, Hamburg und Edinburgh und beiden Staatsexamina in Hamburg folgten Promotion in München und Habilitation in Trier. Ehrendoktorwürden verliehen die Eötvös-Loránd-Universität in Budapest und die International Hellenic University in Thessaloniki. Gastprofessuren und Forschungsaufenthalte in Brasilien, China, Griechenland, Italien, Kanada und den Niederlanden und an der Haager Akademie für Internationales Recht. Autor von über 150 Kommentaren, Büchern, Beiträgen zu Sammelwerken und Aufsätzen auf den Gebieten des Vertragsrechts, Handelsrechts, Gesellschaftsrechts, Kapitalmarkt- und Finanzdienstleistungsrecht, des Internationalen Privat- und Zivilverfahrensrechts und der Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit.

Mitglied der Académie Internationale de Droit Comparé, des Deutschen Rates  für Internationales Privatrecht, der Academia Europea sowie zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler wissenschaftlichen Vereinigungen und Akademien.

Herbert Kronke führt Schiedsverfahren in deutscher, englischer und italienischer Sprache durch und verfügt über gute Kenntnisse des Französischen und Niederländischen sowie reading knowledge in Dänisch, Portugiesisch, Spanisch und Schwedisch.

Seitenbearbeiter: Prof. Dr. Dres. h.c. Herbert Kronke
Letzte Änderung: 13.12.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up